19th GDSA Football League Championship


Pilgrim FC Wins A Division, Hills United FC Defeats FCKA to Win B-Division Title

DIPHU, July 27: Pilgrim Football Club and Hills United Football Club clinch 19th GDSA Football league Championship 2019 in ‘A’ and ‘B’ division respectively today at KASA playground.

In the final day today, Pilgrim FC netted 6-1 goals against Diphu FC to remain at the top of the table along with Karbi Anglong Morning Star Football Club in ‘A ‘Division. Pilgrims won the title based on better goals difference as they have pumped as many as 6 goals against Diphu FC in the last match of the championship today played at KASA stadium in front of huge spectators. Rupeswar Teron strike twice in 69 and 76 minutes, Alun scored in the 31th and 63rd minutes, Nungsung (41) and ), Jonasing Teron (60) to take Pilgrim to a massive win.

Earlier, in ‘B’ Division Hills United FC claimed the title defeating FC-Karbi Anglong 4-2 vie sudden death after both the team were looked in 4-4 draw in the normal time of the play. Both Final Hills United FC and FC-Karbi Anglong made cautious start in the final match of the tournament at the KASA Ground but it was Jackson Bey who drew first blood in the 3rd minute with his power-packed shot that proved to be a surprise to the custodian of Hills boys.The Hills side, however, did not lose hope and intensified the attack searching for the equalizer.

Their efforts paid off when Matijong Bey (10 minutes) and Binson(42minutes) latched onto the ball and sent it into the net and helped his team entered into the break with the 2-1 shoreline.

After the restart, Hills boys broke the deadlock when Binson fired in a clinical shot in the 51st minute and a again Bonny Sangma added another goal for Hills site but fortune swung so fast that Clever Momin (66), Jackson Bey (69) and Repsing Parbasa(85) of KA-FC came to the rescue and complete his brace the very next minute. Despite various attempts from both ends to add the winner, the game ended in a 4-4 draw stretching the game to penalty shootout.

In the shoot-out, Hum, Solomont, Jiroi, and Dr.Ratan made no mistake in slotting home the ball while only Resing Parbosa and Clever were able to find the net to concede by 2-4 margins.

Four team including GDSS, KAMS-FA, Hills United FC, FC Karbi Anglong were promoted to A Division in the next edition of the club league meanwhile two teams comprising The Pilgrim FA and East United FC were demoted from ‘A’ division to ‘B’ Division.

While speaking at the award giving ceremony CEM Tuliram Ronghang congratulated both the champion for the achievement. “I’m sure the GDSA club league will be more competitive and challenging next season with their inclusion. I wish them all the best for the next endeavour.”

Gautom Terang donor along with spouse, Kache Teronpi wife of CEM Tuliram Ronghang were among the noted guest present at the contest.