2nd phase of Lok Sabha polls today in 97 constituencies, 1 Union Territory


DIPHU, April 17: Karbi Anglong is set for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections on Thursday in which 97 constituencies across 12 states and 1Union Territory will decide the fate of its leaders.

It is also reported from District Election Department that preparation in all polling stations under No. 3 Autonomous (ST) Parliamentary Constituency is completed and polling in Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao will start at 7:00 am sharp and will conclude at 5:00 pm.

Apart from No. 3 Autonomous District, 4 places in other parts of Assam which include Karimganj, Silchar, Mangaldoi and Nowgong will franchise their votes. A total of 69, 10, 592 voters which include 33, 54, 460 males, 33, 55, 952 females and 180 transgenders will decide the fate of the leaders in fray.

Mention can be made that there are 1, 174 polling stations under No. 3 – Autonomous District (ST) Parliamentary Constituency out of which 4, 04, 528 male voters, 3, 90, 551 female voters and 6 transgender voters. At No. 16-Haflong (ST) LAC, there are 242 polling stations with a total of 1, 37,317 voters. There are 69,343 male voters and 67,974 voters in the constituency. At No. 17-Bokajan (ST) LAC, there are 212 with 1, 41,160 voters out of which 72,480 are male voters and 68,680 female voters.  There are 1, 26, 727 voters under No. 18-Howraghat LAC and the constituency has 166 polling stations. The constituency has 63,822 male voters and 62,905 female voters.

At No. 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, there are 1, 89, 454 voters from 258 polling stations. There are 95,973 male voters, 93, 475 female voters and 6 transgender voters.  At No. 20-Baithalangso (ST) LAC in West Karbi Anglong, a total of 2, 00, 427 voters from 296 polling stations will decide the fate of their leaders. There are 1, 02, 910 male voters and 97,517 female voters in the constituency.

Mention can be made that, earlier No. 19 Diphu LAC has the highest number of voters; however, for the first time in history, No. 20 Baithalangso LAC surpassed Diphu LAC and the constituency now has over 2 lakhs voters.