Ranu Langthasa Elected as Chairperson to the 12th NCHAC Consecutively


Suroj Barman
HAFLONG, Feb 06: The former chairperson Ranu Langthasa who is again re-elected from No. 28-Semkhor MAC constituency of Dima Hasao district with Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) party ticket has been elected as Chairperson to the 12th N C Hills Autonomous Council (NCHAC) in presence of Deputy Commissioner, i/c Vikram Dev Sharma at NCHAC Conference Hall, Haflong today.

She is elected unchallenged as there was no nomination filled by any other candidate for the post of Chairman in a row. This was declared at Secretary, Legislative N C Hills Autonomous Council today at 12 noon as scheduled earlier in pursuance of Rule 24 and Rule 32 of the Assam Autonomous District (constitution of District Council) Rules 1951, the Governor of Assam.

Since establishment of 28-Semkhor constituency in 2007, Ranu Langthasa has been continuously winning from the constituency. Langthasa earlier in 2016 became the first women chairperson to be appointed to the post since the formation of Autonomous Council.

Other hand with the appointment of the Chairperson the process for formation of BJP lead Council by 26 MACs to the 12th NCHAC will begin after the selection of Executive body on approval of the Assam governor Jagdish Mukhi to complete the whole process and to hand over portfolio to the EMs to the centre of autonomy for the needs and aspiration of people of Dima Hasao district.

The BJP swept the polls by winning 19 of the 28 seats in the council held in January 19 elections, the Congress bagged two seats and the AGP managed a solitary seat. The remaining six seats went to Independent candidates. Later, the AGP and the Independent candidates joined the BJP, making it the single largest party with majority of 26 seats, while the Opposition Congress occupied only two seats in the council.