Court summon three non-tribal KAAC MACs today


DIPHU, Aug 8: Three non-tribal MACs of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) including No 7 Kopili MAC constituency Pawan Kumar, No. 23 Bokajan MAC Madhuraya Dhekial Phukan and No. 24 Deopani MAC Mukut Mahanta were summoned by the court of Chief Judicial Magistrate, Diphu under the instruction of Gauhati High Court on Thursday at 10:00 AM Challenging their legality of contesting election in KAAC being a non-tribal person, report said here on Wednesday.
Public Interest Litigation (PIL) was filed in Gauhati High Court by Dhon Dera against Pawan Kumar, a civil case was filed by Pranjan Kro in the court of Chief Judicial Magistrate, Diphu challenging the legitimacy of Madhurya Dhekhiak Phukan for contesting last KAAC election and similarly against Mukut Mahanta by Chandra Teron.
Earlier, the Gauhati High Court, while disposing off a PIL filed by one Ratan Terang ( PIL No 9/2017) has directed the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) to initiate all necessary steps to prepare the voter’s list in accordance to the Para 2 and sub para 7 of the Sixth Schedule to Indian Constitution.
It may be mentioned Sixth Schedule to the Indian Constitution makes special provisions for the administration of the tribal dominated areas in four states viz. Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram. As per article 244 and 6th Schedule, these areas are called “Tribal Areas” which are technically different from the Scheduled Areas under Fifth Schedule and non-tribal have no political rights to contest in any kinds of election under Autonomous District Council (ADC) as it will be an infringement of the rights of the tribal of the region and would led to gross violation of the mini Constitution of India.