1st Diphu Poetry Festival concluded on a high note


Surjya Rongphar, Smita Bhuyan and Alonka Beypi declared winners

DIPHU, Mar 21: The Karbi Anglong Today (Bi-lingual monthly magazine) present the 1st Diphu Poetry Festival organized by Jambili Literary Foundation (JLF) in collaboration with Karbi Lammet Amai (KLA), Karbi Cultural Society (KCS) and Karbi Tokbang Aterang (KTT) and supported by Assam University Diphu Campus and Diphu Government College Students’ Union Society was held at Rangsina Sarpo Auditorium Hall, Lorulangso Dipnu on Wednesday.

The one day literary event was organized on the occasion of World Poetry Day. The festival was inaugurated by KLA general secretary Kamsing Hanse and present at inaugural programme include eminent writer Sahitya Akademy awardee, Dr. Premananda Muchahary and Sahitya Akademy Awardee, Arabibdo Ujir.

Ex-EM Surjya Rongphar won the competition in the Karbi section with Jeena Lekthepi and Longsing Teron walking away with the second and third honour respectively. The competition in the Assamese section was won by DGC student Nayan Tanti followed by Dhaniram Tisso and Smita Bhuyan in second and third respectively.

Meanwhile, Alonka Beypi of Rukasen Diphu was declared winner in the English section with lad from Howraghat Struggle Phangcho in second and Jorhat youth Herak Jyoti Gogoi in third honour.

Earlier in the first session of the Karbi Poets’ which began at 11:00 am was chaired by eminent writer Lunse Timung and was inaugurated by noted writer also adviser of Karbi Cultural Society (KCS), Chandra Kanta Terang in the morning at 10:00 am. During the programme the poet attended by Deben Timung Kamsing Engti, Sarklim Taro, Nandaram Teron, Phulmoti Teronpi, Jorsing Bey, Hakim Rongpi, Lika D. Teron, Saising Rongpi, Mangalsing Taro, Joysram Tisso, Khorsing Engti, Bijoy Teron and Gandhi Terang who attended as invited guest recited their poem.

The English Poets’ Meet was chaired by eminent poet Dhaneswar Engti and was inaugurated by AUDC English department HoD Dr. B.C. Dash. He was accompanied as invited poets by Joysing Tokbi, Karon Hansepi, Dipali Amphi, Prof. Machurina Hussain, Journalist Roselyn Taropi, Kabin Teronpi, Atanu Dey and they also recitation their owned poem during the meets. Shawn Johnston, Indigenous Tribesmen from Canada was also given a warm welcome with Karbi jacket.

The Assamese Poets’ Meet at 2:00 pm was chaired by poet Sar-et Hanse. The session was inaugurated by AUDC Assistant professor Dr. Hiramanna Das and was accompanied by Chandra Sing Terang, Journalist Manju Teronpi, Manu Hazarika, Kaminia Boro, Putul Chetia, Pari Rongpi and Bhovo Prasad Deori and they also recitation their owned poem during the session.

Followed by Session-IV ‘My Poetry, My voice’, a multi-lingual poets meet was chaired by writer and JLF adviser Joysing Tokbi. The session was attended by KLA adviser Sing Kro and KLA VP Chitra Kr. Bey.

And the last session with the thme ‘Bringing the Youths Closer to Literature’ was chaired by JLF adviser Joysing Tokbi and was inaugurated by the chief guest AUDC Pro. Vice Chancellor Dr. Sivasish Biaswas and was attended by The Drongo Express Editor Dr. Lipson Rongpi KTT president Bidyasing Rongpi.