First anti-BJP wave in Karbi Anglong?


5 KADF, 3 BJP, 1 IND and 1 NPP leaders join INC

DIPHU, Jan 22: Discontentment over Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) rule manifested today for the first time in the district as 3 of its leaders merged with Congress (I) along with eight leaders from other political parties during the extended executive meeting of the Karbi Anglong District Congress Committee (KADCC) on Monday.

Altogether 11 leaders from various political parties which include three BJP leaders, six from Karbi Anglong Democratic Front (KADF), one National Peopled Party and one from independent party merged with the Congress during the programme in presence of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president MP Ripun Borah.

Leaders which joined the Congress (I) today include Surjya Rongphar from KADF party of Deopani MAC Constituency, Mensing Taro of Independent party from Deopani , Kadom Terangpi of KADF, Surupathar and Daniel Momin from NPP of Bokajan. All of them were from Bokajan LAC. From No. 18-Howraghat LAC, leaders who joined Congress include Bidyasing Rongpi from KADF, Mahamaya, Kaja Terang and Birendra Kumar Nath from BJP, Howraghat, Chandra Tamang from BJP , Phuloni MAC Constituency, whereas from No. 19-Diphu LAC, ex-EM Pradip Singnar from Singhason KADF party, Phuding Terang and Mahesh Kumar Chauhan from Langpher KADF party formally joined the Congress.

APCC President MP Ripun Borah who was present at the programme as chief guest said, “I wholeheartedly welcome the 11 leaders from different parties. I have seen many leaders who joined other parties and rejoining the Congress and I appreciated them for coming back to their home. Mother is a mother whether she wears torn or new clothes. We all know that Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is heavily backed up by the RSS and RSS was formed in the year 1955 long before BJP was formed. The RSS is purely a Hindu organization but decided to play politics through this platform and hence BJP was formed in 1982. So far BJP have 54 frontal organizations for strengthening their party.

Earlier the RSS has dishonored the National Flag but started to honor the flag from 2016 only. The RSS and BJP’s slogan is’ One Nation, One Religion’, but we all know our nation is a secular country where every religion have the right to practice their religion. The BJP party is trying to demolish the reservation of Schedule Tribes and will convert it into general category. During the last parliamentary election campaign, the present Prime Minister Narendra Modi assured to deposit Rs. 15 lakhs in each account within 100 days after the BJP came into power. The party further promised to send back all the illegal migrats from Bangladesh and other countries after 16 days of the BJP into power. The party also promised to create 2 crore jobs for solving the unemployment problems, to cut the price of commodities by 50% and to give 24-hours power supply. The party won elections after the people of India put their faith after those promises but these promises were unfulfilled even after the party came to power and has ruled for 3 years,” Borah stated.

Borah was accompanied by Durlav Chamua, Aminur Rashid Chaudhary, Ramana Boruah, Gagendra Upamaina Borthakur, Diganta Bhuyan Barma and others.

The meeting was chaired by MP Birensing Engti while object of the meeting was briefed out by KADCC general secretary Bidyasing Rongpi.