AAGSU Greater Diphu Branch Formed


Diphu, Jul 23: The All Assam Gorkha Students’ Union (AAGSU) today formed its new branch at Diphu called AAGSU Greater Diphu Branch during a public meeting held at Gorkha Bhawan, Dewan Basti, Diphu.

The meeting was organized by AAGSU, Diphu Regional Committee and presided over by AAGSU president i/c Bhima Chetri. Several local Nepali leaders like Dilip Thapa, Gopal Chetri, Bishnu Arjel, Gopal Chetri, Suraj Gajurel, Binod Chetri, Raju Chetri, Puspa Chetri and others attended the meeting.

During the meeting the public discussed on various problems faced by Gorkha people residing in and around Diphu Town. After a prolonged discussion, they resolved to form AAGSU Greater Diphu Branch in order to oversee the overall situation of the Gorkha people as a whole. The meeting also appointed Sanjib Chetri as president and Noren Sharma as general secretary of the newly formed body respectively. The public also advised the newly formed body to organize education awareness programme at Diphu for Gorkha students at the earliest.